Wk 4-Activity-Painting

Painting 

20150918_182430_resized

20150918_171834_resized

20150918_171941_HDR_resized

This weeks activity was painting, not with a brush but with the use of a spray can; other wise known as tagging. I thought this activity would be fun because I have never actually used this medium before.  I have seen documentaries and watched videos about tagging but had never actually tried it.  The closest I ever came to it was drawing my name in different block and bubble fonts in my sketch book.  I mean it doesn’t seem like it would be that difficult but it’s a lot harder than it looks. The thing that you have to take into account is that it’s paint so when it comes out of the can it may splatter, you have to hold it at a certain distance from the canvas, and make sure you distribute enough paint to certain areas so it doesn’t look blotchy. As you can see my work is pretty amateur. I am somewhat of a perfectionist so I might be trying this again later on with the hope of making it look clean and appealing to the viewing eye. This was a fun activity I wish I had a little more canvas space to work with so next time I will have to go to Venice and give it another try.

Leave a Reply

